Consider me “Dialed In”

Tonight I (finally) finished up the Dial It In phase of the Female Body Breakthrough.

I liked this stage at the beginning, but started to get a big bored there towards the end.  It was nice to get back under the bar for squats and super fun to be deadlifting again.

I’m not sure if I’m going to continue on with the last phase or not.  My membership at the gym is up in (hopefully) another week, so I’m going to have to start getting creative with some things.  I can do overhead presses if I’m using dumbbells, but not a bar, and certainly not push-presses, since they’d be a lot harder to control and lift between the joists.

My copy of The New Rules of Lifting for Abs arrived today, so once I finish reading the original NROL I’ll bust into that one.

I have a feeling we’ll work through one of the Strength programs from NROL, just because I think that’d make the most sense for the husband and I to do together.  But we’ll keep NROL4A in mind.

In other news, I’ve recently made the switch from once a week weigh-ins to daily weigh-ins.  I’m taking my weight each morning and using a moving average to keep track of where I am and how I’m doing.

Being the giant nerd that I am, I found, and enjoy, the site PhysicsDiet.com.  It presents that data in 3 ways on the same chart: 1) your weight as a moving average, 2) a line of best fit that shows the trend, and 3) your actual weight.  They fill in the chart between each successive daily weight depending on what it is relative to the moving average; green if it’s below, pink if it’s above.

Daily weighing cancels out the noise in the data, like being up 1.5 lbs the day after a workout due to water retention, or a salt laden day, and makes it a lot easier to see the trend.  It’s a pretty neat tool.

That’s it for now.  I think I’ll be off the gym for a few days, as I’ve got plans to meet up with different sets of girlfriends Friday and Saturday, and then my brother-in-law and his girlfriend will be visiting for the duration of the weekend.  Hopefully next week we can get in a dumpster and clean out the basement so we can get our gym set up!

Leave a Reply

