Does this make me hardcore?

Man, I’ve been a giant slacker this past week.  I kept making excuses to not go to the gym and get in my workouts.  I think I was bored with what I was doing.  I made the executive decision to say f-you to the last two workouts of the Base Phase of FBB and move on to the next stage, Defining Yourself.

The book doesn’t specifically come out and say “do 6 A workouts and 6 B workouts”.  It says to try to do 3 workouts a week and to stay in each stage for 4 weeks.  Well, that works out to 6 of each if you do 3 a week.  Well, I don’t always get in 3 workouts a week (though I’m going to make that more of a priority from now on) so what am I supposed to do?  12 workouts?  or 4 weeks?

Well, I got in 5 of each workout in about 4 weeks, so, let’s say that’s ok.

On my way home from work yesterday I was feeling kind of off.  I sort of chalked it up to motion sickness from reading on my phone in the car, but it might have been something I ate too.  I had a quick cat nap when I got home and them put on my workout gear and headed to the gym.  Now, any other day that I was feeling nauseous like that on a planned workout day, I probably would have taken the day off, but because of the excuses I mentioned earlier I wasn’t about to let myself talk myself out of it yesterday.  I figured it was my first time through the A workout of the new phase, so I could take it easy and focus on learning the new movements.

Yeah, I forgot about the taking it easy part.

The thing that really killed me, I think, was the assisted chin-ups.  I’m nowhere near strong enough to bust out a single unassisted chin-up, let along 6-8 of them, and since my gym is the suck they don’t have resistance bands, so I did my chin-ups on the assisted chin-up machine thingy.

Even assisting myself with about half my body weight (I figured that would be a good place to start) they were haaaaard.  But that’s sort of the point, isn’t it?  Even after my first (of 2) sets I was feeling extra yucky.  After the second set I’m sure that I was pale as a ghost.  And I still had one super set of 2 exercises to finish!

I sat on a bench for a little bit trying to use my brain to convince my body that I was ok and could keep going.  I wanted to, at the very least, get one set of the last 2 exercises in.  And I did.  And then I was done.

I went down to get my purse and bag from my locker and nearly lost it when I had to cut through the aerobics studio.  Holy hot and humid batman.

I started the drive home with my windows all the way down and got about 2/3 of the way (it’s 3.3 km from the gym to my house) before my mouth started to fill with saliva and I knew I had to pull over.

I ended up leaving my afternoon snack in a parking lot just off the street.  Oops. And ew.

I got home and just curled up in a ball on the couch until my H got home.  At which point he offered to make me Kraft Dinner for dinner (that was all I could think about eating at the time) so I played Lego Star Wars.

Next time, I think I’ll stay home.

 

Leave a Reply

