Loathing

If I had to pick one exercise that I would never have to do again, it would be the Bulgarian Split Squat

 

Image from The Fat Solutions

 

Seriously.  I hate these things.

They didn’t make me hate life completely when they showed up in NROL4W, but now in FBB, they incite loathing in me.

I literally have to sit there and psych myself up to do them.

I have a few theories as to why I suddenly hate them:

  1. I was doing them wrong before.
  2. My newly developed hip muscles are tight because all I do all day is sit.
  3. I actually don’t have a 3.

I think that in actuality it’s a combination of 1. and 2.  I sit for my commute, I sit all day at work, then I sit for the commute home.  Tightness much?  That, and I think that during NROL4W I was “cheating” by shifting weight to my back foot.

I think I’m going to take the rest of this phase of FBB to work on correcting my form.  Tonight for Workout B4 I checked my ego at the door and did these with body weight only.  And it was still challenging.

As for the hip tightness, I need to start foam rolling more regularly, and working in some specific hip stretches.  Tony Gentilcore has been posting some good hip stretches lately, and there was an article on Stumptuous not long about yoga poses that help open up the psoas, so I’ll try to work on adding those in.  I figure I should probably aim to at least be stretching daily.

If anyone has any other recommendations for good hip stretches, or ways to improve my stupid BSS’s, I’m all ears!  Er, hips?

Leave a Reply

