The importance of eating

Yesterday taught me a new lesson, eating is a good thing.

I decided to take a half day off from work (the second half, of course) so that I could do some running around and get in a workout before the weekend.

You see, this weekend is our first anniversary and we’re headed down to Niagara-on-the-Lake to stay at a fancy pants resort/hotel. We ended up with a wine tour package that includes the hotel driving us around to tour 3 wineries, a bottle of wine in our room, dinner at their 4 diamond restaurant and (of course) a nights stay. Needless to say, workouts are one of the last things from my mind right now, although the resort does have (apparently) the best hotel gym in the country.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand, food. I had ordered an anniversary cake from the bakery that made our wedding cake to be picked up at23pm Friday. I figured that I’d work until noon, head over the gym near my work, get in my workout, and then head over to pick up the cake. I planned on having a snack around 10, then protein powder in water around 11:30 to tide me over until after I was done my workout.

Well, it ended up that I had a few things to finish up at work and didn’t leave until 1pm. A 45min-1hour workout and then a half our drive to pick up the cake would have meant I’d be late, so I opted to run some errands, pick up the cake, drop it off at home and then go to my normal gym.

Well, by the time I got home it was 3pm. I hadn’t had much to eat, so I had a piece of bread quickly and then hit the gym.

I had a great workout, but I was constantly battling acid reflux and nausea. If I needed to, I took a quick sit to calm my stomach, but man, I pushed it. I made it a priority to lift more/heavier than last time and I did, for all of the exercises. I even went to failure on my last set of underhand-grip lat pulldowns!

Needless to say, when I got home I felt like absolute crap. That is, until I had some food. Clearly I was under fueled yesterday. I think that next time I do something like this that’s outta the norm, I need to come prepared with more snacks!

Leave a Reply

