Shoulda Stayed Home

Ugh.  For the first time since I rededicated myself to getting healthy, the gym won.  Sorry, I should rephrase that, the program won.

Today was one of those days when I should have actually listened to that nagging voice in the back of my head telling me to stay home.  I got very little quality sleep last night, as we got home rather late.  We did have a fun night last night though, we went to my step-cousins wedding celebration at an Iranian restaurant.

The food there was delicious, but perhaps not quite plentiful enough.  I may have drunk more red wine than is generally prudent on a Sunday evening, and I think something in the food didn’t completely agree with my stomach.

All of that equaled an upsetting mix of a huge case of the hungries coupled with a case of the wanna barfs and a major case of the tired’s.

So when that nagging voice told me to stay home from the gym, I told it to STFU.  No way was I going to skip a workout at the beginning of a stage.  Nuh-uh.  So, off to the gym I went.

It started well.  I was feeling ok.  I did a mediocre weight on squats and then moved on to what I’m going to call the speed round.

Alternating sets of 4 different exercises, each with 15-20 reps, with only 30 seconds of rest between each set, 4 times through.  Talk about elevated heart rate.    Of the (just less than) 50 minutes I recorded on my HRM, only 13 of those were “in the zone” (135-154 bpm) and the rest certainly weren’t spent below the zone.

I made it through 2 full sets of the 4 exercises before things started to get hairy.  I had already been resting more like 60-90s between sets just to freaking catch my breath when I got hit with a wicked case of wanna-pukes.  It was hot and humid in the gym.  Even the beefy off duty trainer working out beside me commented to me on the heat.  I decided to take a few minutes to breathe and get my heart rate down a bit.  Nearly 5 minutes later I started in on my 3rd set of pushups.  I got through 2 and had to call it a day.

I’ve said before that the BW matrix had brought me close to puking, and man, that was nothing.  I was about to walk over and grab the garbage can today.

I guess that exercising is just like the rest of life.  You have good days and you have bad days.  You just can’t let the bad days define you.  While I’ve never thrown in the proverbial towel like that before, I’m not too upset about it.  It just really wasn’t my day.  I’ll refuel appropriately, get myself nice and hydrated and giv’er 110% the next time.

Now, I just have to figure out if I want to redo this workout or not…..

3 responses to “Shoulda Stayed Home

  1. Hey girl! I came across your blog through The Knot. Just wanted to say that I feel ya! I lost 125 lbs about 3-4 years ago and though I’ve been maintaining the majority of my weight loss, I’ve been slacking on my workouts. Especially last year with finishing school, finding a job, moving, etc. Anyway, just wanted to say hi and let you know that i’m in the early stages of my weight loss program as well. Good luck! I know you’ll be an inspirtation to me too!

    • Thanks Laura! Congrats on your previous weigh loss, that’s really incredible. Sometimes it’s hard to make time for a workout. There are so many days when I just want to go home and veg. But, I’ve never regretted going to the gym, so, I go.

  2. I totally feel ya! I’m on “day 3” of my exercise regimine, and my body is so sore. I just have to stay motivated and focus on my goal 🙂

Leave a Reply

