Workouts – Old Skool

Today I opted to do my workout (NROL4W Stage 5B Workout 2 – half way through Stage 5!) at the gym at my work.  It’s been a while since I’ve been up there.

Back when I was a co-op student I used to come in early to spend some time on the elliptical thingy in order to beat the morning traffic.  I ended up getting up at the same time, but I was able to get in a half hour – 45 minute workout because the traffic was so much lighter that much earlier.

When I decided to start doing NROL4W and was faced with the daunting task of joining a gym, I ran the numbers.  I could either A) do my workout before or after work in the gym at work and drive myself in each day, or B) join a gym near my house and carpool.  Seeing as driving myself in would use up about a tank of gas a week ($40/week), carpooling would only be half that (~$20/week) and a gym membership is $13 every TWO weeks, well, carpooling and joining a gym is much cheaper.

Since Stage 5 takes so freaking long to get through (usually 2 hours) and driving home right after work takes at least an hour (but waiting, say, 2 hours only takes 30 minutes) I took advantage of a day driving myself in to get my workout in earlier and maybe make it home before 7.

Here’s what I had to work with:

4 eons old treadmills, an elliptical thingy, a rower, a weird cable machine, and some random “total body fitness” sled thing.  Oh, and a Smith Machine (groan) and tons of old ass plates and a barbell.

I’m used to the Oly bar at my normal gym, so I hauled the tiny little barbell out to the plant floor shipping are to give it a weight.  It came in at a very random 14.14lbs.  I called it 14.

This workout calls for back extension, and of course my awesome work gym doesn’t have the equipment for that, so, I got creative and discovered another use (besides coat rack and incline pushup assister) for the Smith Machine.


I set the bar down just about bench height, threw the pad on and put a bench in front.  Laying down with my hips just past the edge of the bench, I supported my legs on the bar.  Quite ingenious if I do say so myself.   I was nearly kissing the awesome floor while doing the extension, but hey, a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do!

The only other issue was trying to decipher the Pacific Fitness cable machine.  For lat pulldowns I’m used to seeing lbs or kgs as the weight identifier.  Not this time.  Numbers.  Plain ole’ integers.

#9 was challenging, and maybe a bit too much so.  I went down to #8 for my 3rd set and was able to get a much broader range of movement.  I don’t think I’ll be doing many more workouts in this gym in the future, but I think I will try to find some sort of conversion chart for integers to pounds for this thing.

That’s about it.  Post workout recovery was a simple blend of chocolate and mocha protein powder mixed with water, and dinner was scrambled egg wraps.

The last two nights after dinner I’ve been getting an upset stomach.  Today is much better than last night, but I’m still feeling blech.  I think I’ll go have a quick shower and then lay in the fetal position until bed.

Leave a Reply

