I hate techno.

Why do they always pump techno music into the gym?  Like, why is it that lifting weights and techno always go hand in hand?  I think of lifting weights as bad ass, and, well, to me, techno is nothing but.

A week and a half ago, on a recommendation from someone on The Nest, I ordered a Tune Band to house my iPhone whilst at the gym.

Like that, but I got black instead of red.  I’m looking forward to it arriving (estimated arrival date is June 20th, why must shipping things to Canada for cheap be so difficult?) so that I can rock out while lifting without the fear of my phone dropping out of my pocket on a particularly deep squat, or while doing Swiss ball crunches.

Last Tuesday my husband and I ran in a 5k.  A super hilly 5k.  And, we thought it would be a good idea to go for a 4.8km run on Monday to “see how we could do”.  Yeah, bad idea.  This time last year was when we started running, and we ran a lot (relative to not at all).  Three times a week using the Couch to 5k program.  Once we ran the 5k last year (same race as last Tuesday) my seamstress said to stop losing weight/inches, and it started to get humid and, well, I stopped running.  Since we bought our house in November I’ve gone running in our neighbourhood alone maybe 3 times.  I have been doing HIIT through New Rules of Lifting for Women, but I only ever cover about 2k at a time, and it’s done in 1 min of all out sprint, with 2 mins of walking.  So yeah, not much training for last weeks race, combined with a silly run the night before left my legs in pain for several days.  Then the weekend came around and I wanted to get work done on the house, so, no gym.

All that preamble was basically to say that I went to the gym tonight for the first time since June 3rd.  11 days.  Bad raynes.  As expected, it wasn’t quite the workout I would have expected had I gone on, say, June 5th, or 6th, but all in all, it wasn’t too bad.

Today I did Stage 4A Workout 4 of NROL4W.  If you’d like to know what the program is, check out the book.  I love it.

Today’s post-workout recovery shake is something new for me.  I’ve been reading The Female Body Breakthrough and, while I learned about the importance of post workout recovery in NROL4W, Rachel Cosgrove mentions the importance of including carbs.  So, today I did!

Today I enjoyed:

~ 1 C frozen raspberries

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1/2 C skim milk

1/2 C water

Thrown in my Kitchen Whiz (Magic Bullet Knockoff) and blended until done.  Yummy.  I’ll do this again for sure.

Now I’m off to make dinner, which is my workout night usual of 2 eggs and bacon on a whole wheat english muffin.  Normally I use peameal (Canadian) bacon because it’s very lean and very delicious, but I’ve got some regular bacon that needs to be used, so today we dine in salt.

Leave a Reply

